IPL Prize Money

Bet on IPL
Home ยป Cricket Betting Online in India ยป IPL Cricket Betting ยป IPL Prize Money

Get Rs. 2,000!

Click here to register

We give extra Rs. 2,000 in cashback!ย 



The Table of Content

The IPL winning prize has evolved over the years from INR 4.8 crores for the winning team in 2008 to INR 20 crores for the winning team in 2023. This prize fund is being announced by the BCCI that divides the entire money pool among the franchises involved and the top 4 winners. Along with that, the IPL prize money also got distributed among the individual players for their performances.

Last year, Gujarat Titans (GT) was the IPL champion with an IPL trophy price of INR 20 crores. The final happened in Dubai International stadium between GT and ย Rajasthan Royals (RR), where GT defeated RR by 7 wickets. RR was the runner-up team with IPL prize money of 13 crores. With that 3rd and 4th, runner-up teams received 7 crores each.

Let’s see how the IPL prize money extended from its inaugural season 2008 till the last year IPL 2022. Also, we’ll have a sneak peek into what’s the status of the IPL prize money in the 16th edition of IPL.

By the way, IPL teams earn money not only from prize money. They get money from brand sponsorships, ticket sales revenue, and merchandise sales too.

IPL Prize Money from 2008 to 2022

IPL not only have made careers but have changed the lives of those involved. It’s a high-status money-rich league with Bollywood stars and top-tier businessmen involved. Sponsors and media rights play a big role in the money flow of this league too.

You can estimate the mammoth rise in the IPL prize money over the years from the fact that its brand valuation in 2020 was raised to $6.1 billion. While the league was started only with an initial investment of $25 million. This evolution of winning prizes is due to the maximum attention this league got over the years.

IPL is loved all over the globe. And for the cricket fans, it’s more than just a league. The involvement of celebrities including Shah Rukh Khan, Priety Zinta, Juhi Chawla and businessmen like Mukesh Ambani made it interesting that it became impossible for the sponsors to not get involved in it.

Back in 2008, the IPL prize money was 4.8 crores and it was raised to a whopping 20 crores till 2018. This raise in prize money was first made in 2016, but then it was again dropped to INR 15 crores and raised back again in 2018.

With a huge fan following, IPL saw an enormous rise in its investors and title sponsors in recent years. And with that, the BCCI has extended its money pool to INR 50 crores.

Back in IPL 2019, the winning team was being awarded INR 20 crores, while the runner-up team was given 12.5 crores. However, this amount was dropped to 50% due to the COVID-19 situation and then raised back again in 2021.

With the addition of two new teams, the brand value of IPL 2022 also grown. That time each team had been given a purse of 90 crore rupees. And the IPL 2022 winner was rewarded with INR 20 crores. On the other hand, the IPL 2022 prize money for the runners up team was 13 crores with 7 crores each for the 3rd and 4th ranked teams.

SeasonWinnerRunner-up3rd4thWinner Prize money (INR)
2023coming sooncoming sooncoming sooncoming soon20
2022Gujarat Titans (GT)Rajasthan Royals (RR)Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)Lucknow Super Giants (LSG)20
2021Chennai Super Kings (CSK)Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)Delhi Capitals (DC)Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)20
2020Mumbai Indians (MI)Delhi Capitals (DC)Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)10
2019Mumbai Indians (MI)Chennai Super Kings (CSK)Delhi Capitals (DC)Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)20
2018Chennai Super Kings (CSK)Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)Rajasthan Royals (RR)20
2017Mumbai Indians (MI)Rising Pune Supergiant (RPSG)Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)15
2016Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)Gujrat Lions (GL)Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)20
2015Mumbai Indians (MI)Chennai Super Kings (CSK)Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)Rajasthan Royals (RR)15
2014Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)Punjab Kings (PBKS)Chennai Super Kings (CSK)Mumbai Indians (MI)15
2013Mumbai Indians (MI)Chennai Super Kings (CSK)Rajasthan Royals (RR)Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)NA
2012Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)Chennai Super Kings (CSK)Delhi Capitals (DC)Mumbai Indians (MI)NA
2011Chennai Super Kings (CSK)Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)Mumbai Indians (MI)Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)10
2010Chennai Super Kings (CSK)Mumbai Indians (MI)Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)Deccan Chargers (HDC)NA
2009Deccan Chargers (HDC)Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)Delhi Capitals (DC)Chennai Super Kings (CSK)NA
2008Rajasthan Royals (RR)Chennai Super Kings (CSK)Punjab Kings (PBKS)Delhi Capitals (DC)4.8
ipl winning prize money

TATA IPL 2023 Prize Money

AwardPrize Money
Purple Cap winner15 Lakhs
Orange Cap winner15 Lakhs
Super Striker of the season15 Lakhs
Crack it sixes of the season12 Lakhs
Power player of the season12 Lakhs
Most valuable player12 Lakhs
Game changer of the season12 Lakhs
Emerging player20 Lakhs
ipl winning prize money

IPL Prize Money FAQs

  • image/svg+xmlimage/svg+xml
    How much does the IPL 2023 winning team get?

    The winning team will receive 20 crore in IPL 2023.

  • image/svg+xmlimage/svg+xml
    How much will the IPL 2023 Runners-up team get?

    The runners-up team will receive 13 crore in IPL 2023.